Harry & Izzy’s, Downtown Indy

While visiting Indianapolis for a trade show (work-related), I was determined to find a good steak.  Not sure why I had steak on the brain, probably because I had come from the East Coast where I got my fill of seafood and it was time for some red meat!  I fell upon Harry & Izzy’s, a steakhouse in downtown Indy, checked out the menu and was sold.
 
I kicked it all off with the Spicy Asian Rock Shrimp, hand-breaded and tossed in a chili aioli and they were MOUTH WATERING.  If you have ever had the firecracker shrimp at P.F. Chang’s they reminded me of those, but better, plumper – and there were a ton!  The shrimp were served in a tortilla “bowl” and literally overflowing onto the plate.  They were tender and juicy and spicy and delectable and everything in-between.
 
Onto the red meat…ahhhh…an 8 oz. filet mignon cooked to more of a medium rare than medium (as ordered) but, I was kind of banking on the fact it would be under cooked and my plan came to fruition perfectly.  It was cooked just how I like it – with a warm red center.  I had one choice of side and went with the grilled asparagus and let me just say they did not hold back on that portion either – I have never seen so much asparagus in my life!
Ok I indulged a little and ordered an additional side – house-made onion rings.  They were thin and tender and just the way real house-made onion rings should be (opposed to those giant, thick-cut heavily drenched onion rings so many places serve).  These were lightly fried and not overly greasy.  Served with a couple sides of ketchup, they hit the spot.
If you are in the mood for a good steak and in the Indianapolis area, Harry & Izzy’s will not disappoint. Just keep in mind when ordering your steak that it may arrive a bit underdone, so order up if you feel so inclined.
 
Note: A few doors down from Harry & Izzy’s you will find St. Elmo Steak House – a sister restaurant to Harry & Izzy’s, which I have also heard great things about.  The difference? Harry & Izzy’s has a more casual, updated environment.
 
Harry & Izzy’s
153 South Illinois Street
Indianapolis, IN

Leave a comment